UNCATEGORIES

⑀ free Hardcover ᐚ Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro ① Kindle By George Michelsen Foy ┙

⑀ free Hardcover ᐚ Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro  ① Kindle By George Michelsen Foy ┙ ⑀ free Hardcover ᐚ Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro ① Kindle By George Michelsen Foy ┙ Fans of The Perfect Storm and Into Thin Air will love this exquisitely written and dramatic book George Foy has an action story that doesnt quit At the same, time he charts this emotional journey with captivating sensitivity As readers, we, too, board the SS El Faro, and discover what is the very best and most enduring about ourselves A literary page turner, a joy to read Doug Stanton, 1 New York Timesbestselling author of Horse Soldiers, The Odyssey of Echo Company, and In Harms Way Here is the pitch perfect pairing of subject and author,a gripping deconstruction of one of recent historys most terrible and vexing sea tragedies Run the Storm is a meticulous forensic study that, in Foys able hands,rises to the level of literature Hampton Sides, author of In the Kingdom of Ice Make no mistake, Foy is a natural story teller, but what impressed me was his uncommon ability to weave his deep knowledge of the ship, weather systems, and navigation to accelerate the story, instead of slowing it down Foy is an experienced mariner who clearly knows his stuff, which gives the reader confidence in his account, and allows us to get lost in an amazing story that builds to a wild finish John U Bacon, New York Times bestselling author of The Great Halifax Explosion A World War I story of Treachery, Tragedy, and Extraordinary Heroism Run the Storm is a dramatic, thrilling adventure story, as well as a cautionary tale about the dangers of going to seaeven today, in our age of satellite communications and real time weather forecasting George Foy uses the surviving audio tapes of the crews final hours on the doomed ship to chilling effect, and he convincingly shows how a series of seemingly unrelated errors and omissions metastasized into a full scale disaster A remarkable book William Geroux, author of The Mathews Men With just the right pedigree to tell this familiar storyFoy connects the detail with the domino each represented in causing one of the nations deadliest maritime disasters Florida Times Union Afact filled, exciting tale of a ships tragic final voyage Kirkus Foy does the best job He tells the story briskly and confidently while working in helpful asides how cargo containers are fastened to a ship deck, how forecasts are determined, how huge ships stay upright and how they dont Run the Stormgracefully covers everything youd want to know about El Faros sinking and the 33 lives that went with it Outside A tour de force of nautical expertise coupled with sensitive treatment of one of the worst maritime disasters in our history Ocean NavigatorGeorge Michelsen Foy is the author of Finding North How Navigation Makes Us Humanand Zero Decibels The Quest for Absolute Silence,as well astwelve critically acclaimed novels He was a recipient of a National Endowment of the Arts fellowship in fiction and his articles, reviews, and stories have been published by Rolling Stone, The Boston Globe, Harpers, The New York Times,and Mens Journal,among others A former officer on British coastal freighters, he teaches creative writing at NYU, holds a US Coast Guard coastal captains license, and divides his time between Cape Cod and New York. Best Sellers Atmospheric Sciences Discover the best Sciences in Find top most popular items Books Self Sabotage Psychology Today Behavior is said to be self sabotaging when it creates problems and interferes with long standing goals The common behaviors are procrastination, medication drugs Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro

 

    • Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro
    • 3.1
    • 256
    • Hardcover
    • 273 pages
    • George Michelsen Foy
    • English
    • 08 May 2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *